About Gus:

Gus is a medium sized Australian Cattle Dog, aged 2-years-old.

Description:

Hi, I’m Gus. I’m a 2-year-old super-fast and very distinctively speckled blue heeler, living with my family, in Kurow.

I live with my best mate, Zeb, too – who you’ll also find here.

I’m the trickster of the pair – the one that’s more inclined to excel at agility.

I’m also the pinecone-obsessed one.

Every day we go for a 6km walk, down by the river. I’ll always search round, in the densest of scrub, find a pinecone, and drop it at mum’s feet.

Zeb and I have our own balls and kongs – so there’s never any squabbles – and we’re excellent swimmers too!

I have the more complex personality of the two.

You see, I’m a velcro dog.

If you’re heading to the toilet, I’ll happily accompany you.

If you’re standing in the kitchen, I’ll lay by your feet.

However, while I like being in your vicinity, seeing what you’re up to, I’m not a cuddly kind of a guy.

I’m a bit too staunch for that. If I want to be patted, I’ll let you know.

If you succumb to my cuteness and give me a cuddle, I may give a little grumble. That’s to say, “I’m happy in my own space. We can meet for a pat later.”

But, if I see mum and dad cuddling Zeb, I’ll barge in to remind them I’m there too!

The other day mum sat Zeb and I down for a chat.

Sadly, they’re moving overseas very soon, so they’re looking for only the BEST of loving homes.

A fully fenced place, with loving people, where we can sleep inside at night.

Zeb and I talked it over. We’re hopeful we might stay together, but we understand we may have to separate. That’s okay too.

Mum thinks I’d be happiest in an active home, where I can enjoy regular enrichment games.

When I’m in the zone – playing with my ball – I can go 100 miles an hour – burning up the yard!

I can be like a bull in a China shop but if I get regular engagement, I’m happy to chill out afterwards.

Mum thinks a cat free home, for us both, would be best. I’d be inclined to chase them.

And, while I’m great when little ones visit, living with kids would be too overwhelming for me.

Plus, I’m a guy who loves my personal space, remember?

I frequently wander over to Zeb, while he’s on his bed, and nudge him, so he’ll move over and make space for me. He’s my great mate, so I love sleeping with him.

Mum thinks I’d be happy sharing my home with a cruisy dog that would accept I will sometimes try to be the kingpin.

Mum and dad are certainly sad to say goodbye. They say I’m a very good boy – friendly with people and great round other doggies I meet, when out and about.

I can be left home, without human supervision, for a half day and I’m fine. I’m not a barker and I won’t dig or destroy anything.

I am best though, on the most part, with daytime company, since I enjoy keeping my mind busy.

I’m fully vaccinated, flea and worm treated, and I’ll be neutered before moving to my new home.

So, if you’re a sucker for an independent man that loves his pinecones, why not consider welcoming ME into your life?

Is Gus used to children? Yes but would prefer not to live with them.
Is Gus used to cats? Needs cat-free home.
Is Gus toilet-trained? Yes.
Is Gus used to stock? Yes but could do with more training.
Is Gus used to chickens? Not good with them.
How well does Gus get on with other dogs? Great.
Gus lives in Kurow.
A bit about Gus’s personality:

I’m just a great boy. Very smart and I know lots of tricks!

About me:

My name: Lyn.
My e-mail address: plmiller01@bigpond.com

RWD ADVERT DISCLAIMER:

All Retired Working Dogs adverts are posted in good faith. We generally do not know the advertisers and/or their dogs and have not fact-checked their advert. We are therefore also unable to answer questions about the dog advertised, so please contact the advertiser directly. If you feel that an advert is incorrect then please get in touch with us.