We are always on the look-out for folk to provide homes for our dogs. The people listed on this page have applied to adopt by completing our form on “Application to Home a Dog“. They have all agreed to share their details so please don’t abuse the privilege.

Adopter details

Hi, I’d like to adopt a retired working dog.

About me

My name is Lyn Charlton.  You can reach me on: +6463748259 or email at gardenstone@protonmail.com. I live in Dannevirke in our own property. I can walk/exercise a dog and I already have 1 other dogs. The dog is likely to be left alone for 2 hours per day.

Environment

There are no children at the property. At our property, we have 0 cats, 15 chooks, 0 rabbits and 7 sheep.
Details of other animals:

9i do have more than 15 hens ..why the restricted number allowed??? makes it hard to be honest!!!

We are interested in adopting the following dogs:

a 6-8 year old female to enjoy the company of my other retired male dog preferably a big fluffy scruffy type!!! i think it is best to mix the sexes though “Paul” loves all dogs

A few words about our property:

We have a dairy farm in dannevirke .I run the lifestyle block ,my husband has a run off and would enjoy a dog that could help him a couple of times .a week this is a large house The dogs are in the “‘back porch ” comfy beds and come in beside me at night. Huge garden with a, kilometre track through native bush directly behind the house and huge ”extra” garden., labyrinth and garden pavillion below the main garden. with a river for bathing at the bottom .

Here is why I think we can provide a good home:

I am at home.gardening etc most days ..? go out one day { about 6 hours a week I have had dogs all my life and got my old working dog when my leonberger died [ my second]I will be getting another leonberger ..when my contact has puppies available i am NEVER going to be dogless again!! which is why i would like a middle aged female { my old male is 10 and loves company and has settled in very well}.I am an admirer of Mark Vette and use his methods with my dogs{. I do NOT believe in physical or verbal abuse of any kind} I go off in my camper van occasionally .usually only for a couple of days .which is why 2 retired dogs would be great .my husband is here to pat and feed ..{ he doesn’t like the van!} and it does not look like there will be any major trips away {..good job i say my relatives last year in the u.k.!!}