We are always on the look-out for folk to provide homes for our dogs. The people listed on this page have applied to adopt by completing our form on “Application to Home a Dog“. They have all agreed to share their details so please don’t abuse the privilege.

Adopter details

Hi, I’d like to adopt a retired working dog.

About me

My name is Lyn Charlton.  You can reach me on: +6463748259 or email at 1gardenstone1@gmail.com. I live in Dannevirke in our own property. I can walk/exercise a dog The dog is likely to be left alone for 2 hours per day.

Environment

There are no children at the property. At our property, we have 0 cats, 12 chooks, 0 rabbits and 7 sheep.
Details of other animals:

children .and dog visitors .I am planning on getting an cat .

We are interested in adopting the following dogs:

An aged female preferably long haired ..? a bearded collie or fluffy hybrid. I will be getting a puppy as company next year .I realize i am bereft without a dog { my second aged leonberger has just died { hence ..long hair preference!} and my husbands cattle dog a few months ago i also want to have 2 dogs and will get a male puppy so that they will be compatible{ Mark Vette’s advice}

A few words about our property:

I run the lifestyle part of our dairy farm .There is 4-5 acres of tracked { 1 klm of track} bush behind the house and a river .A fenced safe back yard accessing the closed entrance where the dog beds are and the large house garden,art the front is dog proof i have about 20 hens but your form wants a lower number ..so …

Here is why I think we can provide a good home:

i have had dogs all my life ..2 Leonbergers, a German Shepherd and husbands retired cattle dogs. My dogs have all been relaxed and obeyed basic commands .I have discovered Mark Vette !!. who i admire .second to the “Dog Whisperer””!! and as i am retired i and fit I look forward to spending even more time with my dogs . i found it difficult filling in the hours away, … to only put numbers.i am home most days and as i grow most of my own food a lot of time is spent outdoors .but when i am away it can be for the day P.N or H.Bay.My husband is around during meal times and if necessary i will be able to leave a dog at a family or friends house .There are dogs visiting with family members. I walk the neighbors sheep farm 3 times a week, power walking the hills, and take any active dog with me. Aged and puppies would do the bush track and river every day . Gardenstone has been called a paradise by a lot of visitors and It is an ideal place for dogs .Our farm worker has a 2 year old daughter so any dog needs to be safe around children