About Tim:

Tim is a medium-sized, male Heading Dog, aged 10 years old.


Hi, I’m Tim. I’m the sweetest natured little 10-year-old heading dog, living on a deer farm in Otautau.

I’ve been with my farmer four years now.

He says I’m a “super affectionate guy that’s always eager to please.”

It’s true. I’ll follow him wherever he goes – always looking for him; always listening out.

I’m a social butterfly as well.

I live with two huntaways. Us three, we’re great mates. I just go with the flow. I’m not keen to be the boss.

I’ve worked hard on my farm but, with a little arthritis starting, I’ve been embracing a quieter pace for the past year and a half.

I currently take green lipped mussel powder – plus, as you’ll see from my footage, I love swimming, which helps too!

One of my favourite things is running alongside the quad, but my farmer is careful to only let me do this in short bursts.

I have my passions, but, as an older boy now, I’m still learning my body can’t handle what it once could.

My farmer’s a kind man. He’s always looking out for me.

You see, on my previous farm, I had a rough start in life.

I tend to think big sticks are scary and I’m afraid of raised arms too, but my farmer understands this about me.

Sadly though, he’s moving overseas in June.

He’ll be sad to say goodbye, but he’s on a mission to find me a wonderful PET home, with gentle natured people I can form a strong bond with – who’ll love me the rest of my days.

He’d really like to meet my potential new owners first, so he can be sure we’d get along great together.

My farmer says I’ve done the hard yards, so no more working homes for me please!

I still help him get the sheep in but I do get a little sore if I overdo it.

I’d be happy on a lifestyle block or a well fenced town home, where I can enjoy a nice walk each day with plenty of pats in between!

My farmer says it’d be best if, when walking near traffic, I’m on leash – just in case I chase a car. It’s the herding dog in me, you see.

I’d be fine sharing my home with male or female doggies.

And I’m a guy that just loves people.

If my farmer’s sitting down, I’ll come up and put my head in between his legs and look up at him – hoping for a pat.

Children… I couldn’t be better with! I will lick their faces if they’re up for big kisses.

And people visiting? They’re always friends of mine. Just call me over and I’m happy to come meet them.

I’m excellent round cats and I totally ignore chickens too!

My farmer says I’m just a great boy – “a loyal companion” that he’ll very much miss.

He’s hoping to find me a lovely home ideally no more than a two-hour drive away.

You see, he’d like to trial me for a few weeks – just to make sure we’re the right fit.

And if things didn’t work out, he’d come straight out to get me.

Oh, my farmer also wanted me to let you know that I’m on a worming programme and I was neutered over a year ago.

So, if you’re looking for a very loyal and loving little friend, to share your days with, please think of me.

Send an email, explaining a little about yourself and the type of home you can offer.

Is Tim used to children? Yes.
Is Tim used to cats? Yes.
Is Tim toilet-trained? Yes.
Is Tim used to stock? Yes.
Is Tim used to chickens? Yes.
How well does Tim get on with other dogs? Great.
Tim lives in Otautau, .
A bit about Tim’s personality:

I am a gentle natured very affectionate boy – always eager for pats!

About me:

My name: Brooke
My e-mail address: brooke@sbfl.co.nz


All Retired Working Dogs adverts are posted in good faith. We generally do not know the advertisers and/or their dogs and have not fact-checked their advert. We are therefore also unable to answer questions about the dog advertised, so please contact the advertiser directly. If you feel that an advert is incorrect then please get in touch with us.