About Toby:

Toby is a large, male Huntaway, aged 14-months-old.


Hi, I’m Toby. I’m a 14-month-old hunk of a huntaway.

I live with my family in Carterton.

First thing on my to-do list for the day – spin around and chase my tail – woohoo!

I’m young handsome and full of life!

I LOVE going for big walks, exploring the world and tracking scents round the place.

And meeting new canine friends is the BEST!

I’m quite a submissive guy with the doggies.

I play well with them all. I’m even respectful with the little dogs!

I must say though, my number one passion in life is FOOD.

I’m very food driven, which makes me highly trainable!

I’ve already learnt sit, stay, wait, roll over, lie down… and the list keeps growing.

I won’t even move towards food till my owner says “now.”

Yeah, it’s safe to say, the groundwork’s been done with me.

I’m growing into a well-adjusted sociable gentleman that’s great with kids, adults… everyone!

The other day, my owner sat me down for a chat.

She says she feels sad about how things have been.

You see, she’s busy with so many things, and she tries her best to meet my needs and worries she’s let me down.

She’s hoping to find me a loving new home on a lifestyle block.

A place where I can run till my heart’s content, keep my mind busy and play the day away with friends.

We’ll be sad to say goodbye, but I know she wants the best for me.

My owner thinks I’d be happiest sharing my home with another doggy – being so social and all.

And you know what? I’m even good with cats!

See the picture of me on the couch? Yeah, I live with one and we share the cushiest area of the house. We chill out there together in the evening.

Ok, so when he runs, I DO get the urge to chase him… but we’re still friends though.

Well, I consider HIM a friend and he tolerates ME – if you want to know the truth.

I’m yet to meet chickens but, with some training, I’m sure I’d be fine living with them.

At night, I’m a good boy. I sleep in my crate.

The door is left open and I’ll pop in and out of there in the daytime too – for a quick nap between my adventures.

My owner wanted me to let you know that I’m neutered and up to date with all my vaccinations.

So if you’re looking for a fun-loving, carefree, easy-to-train kind of guy – that loves everyone – you could be my new best friend!

Is Toby used to children? Yes.
Is Toby used to cats? Yes.
Is Toby toilet-trained? Yes.
Is Toby used to stock? Don’t know.
Is Toby used to chickens? No.
How well does Toby get on with other dogs? OK.
Toby lives in Wellington, .
A bit about Toby’s personality:

I have energy to burn. I’m a lovable guy looking for a spacious place to play the day away.

About me:

My name: Claire Cross.
My e-mail address: clairecross@xtra.co.nz.
My phone number: 0275511525


All Retired Working Dogs adverts are posted in good faith. We generally do not know the advertisers and/or their dogs and have not fact-checked their advert. We are therefore also unable to answer questions about the dog advertised, so please contact the advertiser directly. If you feel that an advert is incorrect then please get in touch with us.